About Us


Bergvliet Primary School is a public, co-educational school providing education from Reception Grade to Grade Seven. The school is managed by a Governing Body elected by the parent body.

The ethos of the school is based on the principles of honesty, fairness and respect for the culture, beliefs and feelings of others. Traditionally, it has always been known as a happy school with a relaxed, secure atmosphere. We strive to provide an educational programme in which each individual child is encouraged to develop his or her potential in both body and mind through independent work habits and sound self-discipline. We encourage our children to have respect and support for one another and to develop a strong sense of consideration for others. Children are also encouraged to be mindful of the less advantaged.

Our aim is to develop well-balanced, happy individuals capable of meeting the challenges which lie ahead. The staff strive to attain these ideals through their teaching of the subjects offered and the cultural and extramural programme. We are confident that we will reach these goals through maintaining a harmonious relationship with our parents and the local community, and by keeping the staff morale at a high level.



Principal Mr B Paulse
Deputy Principal Mrs J de Kock
Reception Grade Mrs G Davids (Grade Head)
Mrs A Pollard
Mrs M Tester
Ms P Mgodeli (Assistant)
Ms R Volschenk (Gr R Assistant)
Grade One Mrs G Williams (Education Specialist & Grade Head)
Mrs C Mentor
Mrs A Reay
Mrs K-A Brigg (Foundation Phase Learnership)
Grade Two Miss J de Jong (Grade Head)
Miss A Adams
Miss C McKechnie
Grade Three Miss J Ashton (Grade Head)
Miss D Leslie
Miss L Son
Grade Four Mrs G Williams (Education Specialist)
Mrs A Lambert (Grade Head)
Mr M Barnwell
Grade Five Mrs M Reynolds (Grade Head)
Miss S Mullins
Miss Z Jackson
Grade Six Mrs T Noor
Mrs E Hector
Mrs C Viljoen (Grade Head)
Grade Seven Mr B Hill
Mrs F Esau
Miss P-A Drake (Grade Head)
Miss T-A Cooke (Intersen Learnership & Sport)
Mr R Falken (Intersen Learnership)
Art & Life Orientation Mr M Jonas
Computer Mrs B van Niekerk
Music & Choir Mrs S Gordon

Mrs T Smal

Ms L Smith

Learning Support Mrs A LeechMrs E October

Mrs J Fuller

Librarian Mrs J Junor
Administration Miss M FoutenMrs J Salie

Mrs B Shaban

Reception & Admissions Mrs U Vermeulen
Finance Mrs D LearyMrs H Pretorius
Social Worker Mrs R Wichmann
Tuckshop Mrs A KellermanMrs N Cockbill
School Uniform Shop Mrs F Schwimmbacher
Maintenance Mr E Kruger (Estate Manager)Mr V Luck

Mr C Bosch

Mr M Frans

Mr S Pienaar

Cleaning Staff Mrs B FilitaMrs N Orrie

Miss E Ockhuis

Miss H Rudolph

Mrs J Thyssen

After School Care Miss R VolschenkMrs M Fortune

Miss Bernado

Miss S Pelton

Mrs T Wyngaardt

Ms Basson

Mrs Leary

General Assistant Miss G Plato
Security Mr A Qakah

Comments are closed.